Posts in Awards

Open Letter re: Manitoba Book Awards Cuts

We were disappointed to hear of the pending cuts to the prizes provided by the provincial government for three Manitoba Book Awards - the Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction/Prix Alexander-Kennedy-Isbister pour les études et essais, the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction, and le Prix littéraire Rue-Deschambault – administered by the Manitoba Writers Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers. We have written the following open letter in support of their request to have this decision reversed.


Open Letter to the Province …

The 2011 Governor General’s Award Winners!

Check em’ out!  Click Here!…

Entry Form for the Winnipeg Free Press/ Writers’ Collective Poetry Contest!


The Winnipeg Free Press / Writers’ Collective

2011 Poetry Contest

All winning entries will be published in The Winnipeg Free Press and

The Collective Consciousness, the quarterly journal of the Writers’ Collective.


• This contest is open to Adults (18+) and Senior High School Students – no children’s poetry please.

• Submit four (4) copies of your poety entry, typed, one-sided, using spacing of poet’s choice, on 8.5 x 11 paper. Must be original, unpublished work, no more …

Winnipeg Free Press/ Writers’ Collective Non-Fiction & Poetry Contest!


Call for Nominations

Call for nominations / Appel de mise en candidature

Molson Prizes and John G. Diefenbaker Award 2012
Prix Molson et Bourse John-G.-Diefenbaker 2012

Submit your nominations and spread the word to others!

Molson Prizes

The Canada Council for the Arts and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada are accepting nominations for the 2012 Molson Prizes. Two prizes, worth $50,000 each, are awarded annually – one for the arts, one for the humanities or social sciences.

Eligibility criteria, nomination form and procedures


Winner of Manitoba Reads Announced!

The Winnipeg International Writers Festival, McNally Robinson Booksellers and CBC Manitoba Scene are proud to announce the winner of Manitoba Reads is Gabrielle Roy’s Where Nests the Water Hen, defended by Niigon Sinclair. The book that came in a very close second was The Life of Helen Betty Osborne, written by David Alexander Robertson, and defended by Vincent Ho. This book was also voted #1 in the Audience Choice poll. Alison Gillmor went to battle for Reading by Lightning by Joan Thomas. And Paul Jordan …

Winnipeg Arts Council Awards Nominees Announced!

The best of luck to all of the nominees!


WAC Awards Nominees…