Short Fiction (adult): 1st place $200; 2nd place $150; 3rd place $100.

Short Fiction (senior student): 1st place $150; 2nd place $100; 3rd place $50.

Short Fiction (junior student): 1st place $150; 2nd place $100; 3rd place $50.

+ one Human Spirit Award, $100 (from both Student categories)

Marie Barton Postcard Fiction: 1st place …

Winnipeg Free Press / The Writers’ Collective Non-Fiction and Poetry Contest

Entry Deadline Has Been Extended to:  Midnight Sunday, November  15th                  



Non-Fiction 1st Place:  $500.00

Non-Fiction 2nd Place:  $300.00

Non-Fiction 3rd Place:  $100.00

Poetry 1st Place:    $150.00

Poetry 2nd Place:  $100.00

Poetry 3rd Place:  $50.00

All winning Non-Fiction entries will be published in the Winnipeg Free Press

All winning entries and honourable mentions will also receive a one-year Writers’ Collective membership.


Writers’ Collective Members – $10.00

Non-Members $20.00

Evaluations:  $50.00 Non-Fiction, $25.00 Poetry


  • Email is preferred.  However, if you must mail in

2015 Writing Contest Results

The Winnipeg Free Press and the Writers’ Collective of Manitoba are pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 non-fiction and poetry contest


1st place $500: Adriano Magnifico for “The Flexed Arm Hang”

2nd place $300: Conni Cartlidge for “A Wind of Change”

3rd place $100: Eleanor Penner for “On the Move Again”

Honourable Mentions:  Lawrence M. Pinsker for “The Angel of Loss”

Judy Millar for “Lumpenboob”


Poetry :

1st place $150: Kelly Nickie for “Chip Crumbs”


2014 Awards Gala

Come out and Celebrate Writing!

Hosted by the Writers Collective Board of Directors, the 2014 Spring Short Fiction and Postcard Fiction Awards Gala will be held Wednesday, June 25th at 7pm in the Carol Shields Auditorium at the Millennium Library.

Say tuned – winners will be announced soon.…

Winnipeg Free Press / Writers’ Collective Spring Contests


Due to an error in the last Free Press advertisement listing our address at 245 Lombard rather than McDermot, there’s still time to get in your Short  Fiction (for adults and students) and Marie Barton Postcard Fiction!

The new entry deadline is  MONDAY, MAY 30, 2015 at MIDNIGHT


Short Fiction

Adult: 1st place $200; 2nd place $150; 3rd place $100.

Senior student: 1st place $150; 2nd place $100; 3rd place $50.

Junior student: 1st

Inside Publishing: The Bios, part Deux


I know you were all excitedly awaiting this second batch! If you’re like me, you love the biographies, so here’s more to satisfy your craving 🙂


Inside Publishing is happening Saturday April 12, 2014, 11am – 3:30pm, Carol Shields Auditorium, Millennium Library, 251 Donald Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba

All Sessions Moderated by Joanne Kelly


After a short lunch break to feed those who are staying all day, the fun resumes with Poetry: 1:30 pm featuring, Kristian Enright.

Winner of both the 2013 John

Inside Publishing: The Biographies, part One


As promised, here are the beautiful biographies of our sensational authors and publishers speaking at this year’s Inside Publishing!


IP happens Saturday April 12, 2014, 11am – 3:30pm, Carol Shields Auditorium, Millennium Library, 251 Donald Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba

All Sessions Moderated by the wonderful Joanne Kelly! 


The morning will start with Graphic Novels: 11 am, featuring David Alexander Robertson

David is a Swampy Cree, is a bestselling graphic novelist and writer. He focuses on educating youth about indigenous history and contemporary …

Inside Publishing – A Slight Change

Hello there writerlies,


Good news and Bad news for you today.

The Bad news is Anita is not able to make it tomorrow. She’s a bit under the weather after her eye surgery this week and won’t be able to make it out for tomorrow’s Inside Publishing. We’re sorry to miss out, but do wish her a speedy recovery!

The Good news is Deborah Froese, another up and coming Peanut Butter Press author is all set to go.


Look see:

Deborah Froese is …

Board Nominations – 2014/15

One of the most important tasks of our Annual General Meeting on May 12 is to elect the Board of Directors for the coming year.

Board members, all volunteers, play an active role in the development and operations of The Writers’ Collective. The Board guides the work and development of The Writers’ Collective, including making decisions about programming and finances. This year, six individuals are nominated to the Board. We have four continuing Board members and two new members to add to our team!

Nominations …

Inside Publishing, Saturday, April 12, 2014

IP logo

Offered in partnership with the Winnipeg Public Library, Inside Publishing is the free and open-to-all “glimpse behind the curtain” of the book industry. In four jam-packed 50-minute sessions you’ll get the inside scoop from the authors, editors, and publishers of four different books. We’ll look at various genres, hear about habits, processes, what really fires an editor’s rockets, and a whole lot more. 

* Moderated by Joanne Kelly *
 Millennium Library, Carol Shields Auditorium
, 251 Donald Avenue in downtown Winnipeg

Saturday, April 12, 11